Would appreciate input on killing a baby - legs don't work

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by BennieAnTheJets, Oct 8, 2018.

1. BennieAnTheJets

BennieAnTheJets Songster

Mar 4, 2016
    Virginia, USA
    So, I have been hatching Guineas for 7 years now and have killed 2-3 keets (Guinea chicks)

one I regretted very much because the reason was splayed legs and curled toes and no home to go to and in retrospect I think it may have at least partially recovered and it was super sweet and the man who took the others in the end said he would not have minded giving it a chance

the other one could not breathe and I am pretty sure I did the right thing - it was not eating and slowly dying

(For method, I tried local vets but they wanted to charge for an exam first and then euthanasia with injection (for over 200 $) and I also read online that injections are not the best - I found a "rat lady" who recommended a method (for rats and very small animals) that uses CO2 from Vinegar and Baking soda that is supposed to put the animal to sleep before killing it with lack of oxygen in the CO2 tank - if you want to use that, please do your research and get it right.)

the decision now involves a keet that hatched and is eating - it looked like it had splayed legs at first but now I see it is more: the legs are not working from the hock down, so it hobbles around on its elbows in the brooder box - I don't think it will be able to use either leg for walking later

we have a flock of free ranging Guineas and integration would be very hard for the keet and for me - and our coop is full - this keet is part of a group that was supposed to go to a new home this weekend - so I would have to keep 2 more birds (this one and a buddy) and I am not sure that is the best solution

what are your thoughts about killing / culling / euthanasia and when to do it and when to support live instead, even if it is very difficult?

2. azygous

azygous Free Ranging

Dec 11, 2009