Would like to hear more about Treat Training

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by CarolynF, May 13, 2011.

1. CarolynF

CarolynF Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2011
    Puget Sound
    My Coop
    I just read that "treat training" could make it easier to get the chickens to do what you want. I'm thinking... getting them back into the coop after a few hours outside. I'd like to know how to "treat train" chickens. I've never trained any kind of animal so I'm a total beginner. If you can teach me or point me somewhere that explains it well I'd really appreciate the help. I'll be getting some 6 month old pullets soon and thought it might be good to start asap.

Thanks.

2. DanEP

DanEP Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2010
    Cadiz Ky
    Chickens live to eat so they are easy to train with treats. I use scratch and sunflower seeds for treats. Once you have them hooked on the treats its easy. I Just started to shake the scoop and call come on girls and then only give them the treats in the run or the coop if thats where you want them to go. In a week or two they will be trained for treats and will follow you anywhere. We also have a bell on the run that we would ring while calling the girls, it didn't take long for them to figure out the bell means treats and come running. It's actually pretty funny to watch a chicken stampede from a hundred yards away when they here the bell.
    Just play with what works with your girls and you'll figure it out.Just make sure your not giving to many treats as they need their regular food for good nutrition. You can also do a search for recomended treats on this forum if your not sure what to use.

3. stormylady

stormylady Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2008
    Illinois