would like to incubate eggs...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by apdan, May 15, 2010.

1. apdan

apdan Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    Michigan
    So.. I am new to this and you all have me very excited and I would like to try my hand at incubating eggs... but have nothing! So I was wondering where and what the best incubator would be to get? Any advice?? I don't want to do a TON of eggs maybe start out with a dozen or less..... I have my own fertile eggs to get from the chickens I have now so all I need is the incubating stuff! [​IMG]

2. karen71

karen71 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2008
    Bear, DE
    I think it all depends how much money you want to spend in the beginning .

I am NO expert but when I was looking I looked for used ones that had automatic turners and a fan - I think most will say get at least the fan .

I also decided I wanted one that I could sanitize in the dishwasher so I got the Brower Top Hatch which is a resin of some sort - can't tell you it's the best cause I'm only on my 2nd hatch and they are due today and I see 2 pips 1st hatch did not do so well [​IMG]

I can tell you broody's for incubating are the BEST !!!!! I have hatch 2 times under a broody and had hatch rates of 100%

My Angel is sitting in the same eggs in my bator she started with 4 one was no good and this morning 3 babies [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

She is the best. I would like the bator to do well cause it is neat to see them hatch . You can do a search on incubators on here they have been discussed before .

Have fun and know this IT'S ADDICTING [​IMG]

3. Ceilismom

Ceilismom Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2010
    NW South Dakota