Would Like To Raise Some Geese - Which Is Best Breed?

goosemama

Songster
10 Years
Jul 11, 2009
Forestville, New York
Have chickens & tried ducks this year but would like to try geese. Have a small pond next to henhouse all fenced w/about l/2 acre of grass. Was disappointed the ducks didn't forage more on the grass - they are gobbling the chicken layer like there's no tomorrow.Butchered one of the excess males yesterday and was disappointed how little meat there was (Pekin about l0-l2lbs livewgt). Like to have a breeding pair and hopefully if they raise goslings to put some in the freezer every Fall. What is the best breed to get with this in mind? Broody & good meat birds? And what hatchery would be best to try? I'm a Newbie in this dept. and NEED HELP!!!

Thank you Cottage Rose for your input. I have seen your website and it is beautiful and informative but I was hoping for more general info from a Forum member who has kept geese for meat in a homesteader setting. I am not into "showing" poultry so whatever breed of chickens/ducks/geese I buy have to pull their weight with eggs or meat. I can't afford goslings that cost $50 each to be used as pets. I was wondering what breed that is commonly sold by breeders or hatcheries i.e., Embden, Toulouse, Pilgrim etc. would be best for a homestead situation. I am looking into geese because they are better grass foragers than ducks , a type that is good at raising their own young and which reach a decent weight for the freezer in a short amount of time.

I have a couple of links to some Mother Earth News articles on geese on the bottom of one of my geese pages you might mike to read.
I'm thinking Cotton Patch, Americans or Pilgrims for a nice farm goose.

Quote: