would love some thoughts on my coop plans.....

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by NormaJeanChickenQueen, Jul 31, 2011.

1. NormaJeanChickenQueen

NormaJeanChickenQueen Out Of The Brooder

Jul 30, 2011
    Hi fellow chicken lovers-- I'm a newbie here & to the world of chickens. My DH and I are in the process of building a coop for our 4 chickens. Don't plan to have more than 6 chickens at most. Our thougts for size is a 4x4 house (photo below) with a 7x12' run attached to it.

Do we need to raise house off the ground, as most of them seem to be?

The house is actually a cedar wood playhouse we got from Sam's for a steal. We will staple chicken wire over all window openings, probably have wooden boards in the winter to make it warmer for them. DH wants to put a ramp up going to one of the windows, but if we do that, the chickens will not be flush w the floor when they enter, so another ramp inside? or should we make their entrance flush w floor? ramp would be up to the window on this side.....

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

We are in NC and have fairly mild winters. Does this little house look like it will be enough to keep them warm?

Thanks for your thoughts!

Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  2. teamsunbelt

teamsunbelt Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011
    Midland, NC
    Not sure what kind of deal you got, but that looks nice.

Raising off the ground would give them some under coop shade. If you figure 4 sq ft per bird, you have enough for 4 birds, but with a big enough run, you could squeeze a couple more in. You will need nest boxes and roost. Looks like a nice quick start. Some of the guys I know in NC do not close up near as tight as our neighbors up north. Some only have 3 sided coops. Wire over the windows would be great.

3. emys

emys Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2008
    Idaho