Would this be ok to use as a feed?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by GossipGirlLover, Aug 21, 2011.

1. GossipGirlLover

GossipGirlLover New Egg

Aug 21, 2011
    Hi everybody. I am new to raising chickens plus this is my first post so please excuse my ignorance.

My family and I are looking into raising a couple (3 to 4) chickens in these bad economic times for the eggs and fun for the kids and I am still in the research phase if you will.

Anyways an ad on our local craigslist just showed up as stating feed for sale for various farm animals including chickens and I was hoping someone could tell me if this is ok to feed chickens or to stay away? The price seems to good to be true. Thank you everybody

4 pallets (approximately 240 bags, 25 pounds each bag, totaling about 6000 pounds) of Animal Nutrition Protein Fiber Enhanced Medicated Feed. This product is given to animals in laboratory set up. Great for Cows, Horses, Rabbits, Pigs, Rodents, Deers, Monkeys, Hogs, Chickens, Goats, Bears etc.
    This product sell for $25-$40 per bag on the net. YOURS FOR for $4.00 per bag.
    Crude protein 18%
    Crude fat 4%
    Crude fiber 5%
    ACTIVE DRUG fenbendazole 150ppm

WILL SPLIT INTO SMALLER BATCHES BUT NO LESS THAN 50 BAGS ($4.00 PER BAG).

From Google search
    http://www.harlan.com/products_and_...1_open_formula_mouse_rat_sterilizable_7017.hl

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. KenK

KenK Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2011
    Georgia
    I think it will get eaten by weevils and other pests before your 4 hens can eat 1,250 pounds of it. Have no idea what the fenbendazole is or will do to a chicken.

Since this is your first post I hope you aren't just spamming us with an ad.

3. sheila3935

sheila3935 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    Stonington, illinois