Wrinkled yellow neck growth & broken toes

MarylandChick

In the Brooder
12 Years
Jul 23, 2007
A.A. County MD
I am new to chickens and have two ill birds. Three weeks ago one of my 2 month old chicks developed a gross yellow growth of some kind on her neck. I thought the feathers had come out from sticking her head thru the fencing too much or something I recall the affected skin to be mostly dark yellow but with two dark purple bumps. The baby chicken never seemed to act any different so I did nothing. Then it seemed to get worse. The skin on the back of her neck became thick yellow and wrinkled with pre-feather spikes sticking up. It's now been 3 weeks and the growth is even more yellow, harder and more wrinkly looking and there are still odd spikes. There is no more red or purple anything. I've tried first-aid ointments but it obviously didn't do anything. My chicken is still just as happy and healthy seeming as the others but the growth is slowly getting bigger I think. What is it? What do I do?

My other concern is for my 3 or 4 month old guinea hen. A week and a half ago she broke her right foots hind toe. It's lay flat sideways against her ankle. She's been limping quite dramatically and prefers to lay down and just munch what is within reach then to hop about with the rest of the critters. Now I see the affected foot's outside tow is also broken. The foot with the two broken toes is causing her a great deal of discomfort. She can't open her toes properly, she's limping, laying down a lot, etc. She's even shaking/shivering. I have tried to manipulate the bone but it's clear that unless I can brace the bones back in place there is no point in my touching the foot. Meanwhile the poor hen is easily stressed. If I put her up she struggles like crazy and eventually screams like crazy. She makes such an awful racket that my neighbors must wonder if I'm committing murder! Despite all these issues she is eating and drinking okay. So ... what do I do?