Wry Neck!!! HELP

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Justuschicks, Mar 13, 2011.

1. Justuschicks

Justuschicks Songster

Sep 19, 2010
    Keswick, Virginia
    Does anyone have a cure or something for Wry neck? I have a Silkie chick that came down with it yesterday. I can get it to eat if I move its food around and will sort of drink if I syringe feed it. It just breaks my heart to see my baby like this. I have started giving it selenium and vitamin E diluted w/ water. Is there anything else I should do?

2. corliss

corliss In the Brooder

Mar 7, 2010
    I am not an expert but it sounds like your hen may have wry neck. There are lots of forum entries under Wry Neck so read a few and see if the symptoms sound correct. If that's what it is, you need to give those liquid baby vitamins (Poly Visol without iron) with a dropper, as well as squeeze some vitamin e down her throat. My RIR got this when she was just days old - she ran backwards with her head tucked between her legs, sometimes somersaulting backwards. Someone on the forum diagnosed the problem and I adminstered the liquid vitamins and vitamin e for about 5 days before she recovered. My chick wasn't eating either because she couldn't get her head to the food so I also gave egg yolk by dropper every few hours. Good luck.

3. HHandbasket

HHandbasket The Chickeneer

Hi there,

I have a bantam buff cochin that developed wry neck at about 2-1/2 or 3 weeks of age. I felt so awful for her & I did as others suggested--looked around and found other posts about it. I didn't have any baby poly-vi-sol vitamin drops handy, but I do have chicken vitamins/electrolytes & put that in the chicks' water. It took about 10 days, but she cleared up and is now quite an active little 5-week-old smartaleck ! She shows no signs of it now, so I think keeping your chick hydrated and giving her/him vitamins will do the trick.

Sending you & your chickie good vibes for a quick recovery! [​IMG]