Wry Neck

Isaac 0

Enabler
7 Years
Jul 19, 2016
Iowa
Hi i have been treating a Dominique since she was 2 months old Ive tried my hardest to keep her alive since we got her shes always been my favorite.The first day she was acting weird we immediately thought it was coccidiosis because she was pooping red poop and was not eating we gave her corid and did not get better after 2 weeks of giving her corid we thought she had mites but hat was not the case a week after that i saw her symptoms were a lot of wry neck so we went to the store and got sav a chick she was way better not flipping over eating drinking and occasionally kicking other peoples but when they were invading her food:). She was better but not like the others her neck was on the other side of her body and she would walk very slowly and clumsy to this day she is similar like she was 3 months ago there was little thing that are better now but not much she can eat,drink and have plenty of dust bathes.But i just feel like she will never get better Ive been doing it for so long and she hasn't fully recovered every morning i give her 2 vitamin e gel caps and because we cant find stores that sell selenium we give her sunflower seeds.I just feel hopeless..any help please :(

I have a 1 year old rooster who hatched with severe wry neck...so I've been there. It took months to get him to where he is at now. My advice would be to add vitamin B complex (human vitamins) and polyvisol children's liquid vitamins without iron . No iron is important. One crushed vit B tablet in moistened chicken food or scrambled egg daily and 2 drops polyvisol. I hope that helps. My little guy didn't actually show improvement until I added the vit B complex. Also don't abruptly stop treatment. Once she seems better continue all treatment for another week and then slowly reduce doses rather that just stop. Let me know how it goes. I know it's a frustrating disease to deal with.