Yay eggs ... then no eggs

IamRainey

Crowing
Aug 22, 2017
Los Angeles (Woodland Hills); gardening zone 9B
I'm still relatively new to this. I've had chickens about 16 months.

Last year at this time I had 3 hens who were laying. They kept my husband in more than enough eggs and we were able to share them as well.

This year, last week, I finally had 3 hens laying again after the short Winter days were abating and the newest hens were maturing. I was all ready to stop buying eggs. Then rain started on Monday and it's rained and been gloomy all day every day since. I think I've had 4 eggs this week. Even my Cream Legbar who laid all Winter through has only managed 1 so far this week.

Can weather cycles effect hens' laying in the same way as short days? Do they eventually get some hormonal imperative to lay?

I've got 6 hens who are old enough to be laying (18mo and 7mo) and I'm just not getting enough eggs to get by. I know it will change. I know I need to be patient. But it's making me certifiably NUTZ!!!! And we've got another week of rain reported to be coming next week.

They were losing a minimal but noticeable amount of feathers several months ago but I haven't seen any bald spots on either of them.

BTW one is laying -- though as I noted not even at the rate she laid through the dark days -- the other stopped laying altogether a couple months ago and hasn't resumed. He comb got really wasted looking but its just beginning to show a little color and filling out some. Not to the point where I'm expecting eggs from her anytime soon though.

The decrease a couple of months ago seems typical for the shorter daylight hours. I was in a similar situation.

Yes being patient is the hardest part! I don't think the rainy weather would have a huge impact. If that were the case I think those in the Pacific Northwest would defiantly notice!