yea! DH said 'maybe' to meat birds!!!

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by OHChick, Dec 3, 2007.

1. OHChick

OHChick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2007
    so i've been pestering DH about meat birds for a few months now and he has consistently said no. but a friend of a friend of ours raises chickens (both layers and meat) and she said 'eggs draw in my customers but meat is what makes me the big $'. even at that DH was a firm NO. but yesterday when we were in the barn, i pointed to the temp chicken housing where we brooded our layers until they got moved into their hen house and said 'well i guess we need to clean that out and open it back up' and he said 'or we could finish it the right way and get some meat birds'. i was totally taken aback! i hope he doesn't change his mind come spring when we could actually have some.

does anyone have any advice for me on them? the lady i talked to said cornish X are the way to go and that she slaughters every 6-8 weeks.

i'm excited.... i hope it works out.

2. OffSpring

OffSpring Out Of The Brooder

Sep 13, 2007
    United Kingdom
    I can't really comment as I have only processed 1 bird so far and that was for our own personal consumption...

I guess it makes sense that there would be more money in meat, but I did it to know that my family was eating good, healthy food, where we knew the source and care that had gone in to it from start to finish!

But I just wanted to say good luck with your new venture and I wish you all the best!

Also, if you have never processed your own birds, don't worry it's really straight forward and easy to do. I personally found it easyier to cover the head when "doing the dispatch" as I couldn't bare making eye contact!

3. OHChick

OHChick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2007
    thanks offspring. not sure if i'd process my own or not.... i think it would freak me out to do it, but DH is much more matter-of-fact about those sorts of thing, he'd probably do well with it.