1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Year old male pekin not able to stand, acute onset.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Angsminizoo, Jun 21, 2011.

1. Angsminizoo

Angsminizoo Out Of The Brooder

Jun 21, 2011
    Meade Co. Ky.
    Sorry I have posted this in two different spots as I am new to this and didn't realize that there was a form for injuries. I have a year old male pekin duck that is ill or injured. Last week I let him out of the pen to run the yard and I didn't notice anything wrong so I am assuming he was fine in the morning. My daughter swears that she remembered seeing him and my other two adult ducks waddling around the yard around noon. That evening when I went to put them up for the night he was laying down and could not stand up. My initial thought was that he was attacked by a hawk. But there was no puncture wounds. Then I thought maybe a back injury cause by one of my dogs running over him by accident. So I put him in my bathtub full of water to see if he could padded his feet and to take pressure off his back if it was a back injury. He did find in the tub. He ate and drank as normal. So I left him there for 2 days, filling up the tub 3 times a day to let him swim for a little while and keeping him still so that he could heal. After 2 days he still couldn't stand up. I don't have a vet nearby that knows ANYTHING about ducks (I have had problems in the past with miss diagnoses) so I called a vet at a wildlife refuge; he agreed that it sounded like a back injury and told me what meds to use, which I lucky had on had. After two days of meds he was looking worse (dirty, ruffled feathers and thinner) so I took him out and put him in a small cage by the others so he was not lonely. Now about 5 or 6 days later he