Yellow crusting combs, what causes this? *pics*

turtledove635

Hatching
10 Years
Nov 9, 2009
I have been reading a lot on backyardchickens, but this is my first time posting on here.
I have many chickens of different breeds and sizes. Mostly bantams in my front yard and standards in the back yard.
I have 8 bantam chickens and one standard size chicken (they are all in the front yard) who have started showing signs of some kind of illness. It started out as a few bumps on the rooster's combs and now it's all over their faces and one has it real bad inside his mouth. It has gone from being bumps to crusting up with yellow scab like stuff. I have been cleaning off the yellow scabs and applying neosporin to it, but it doesn't seem much better. The bird's average ages are about a year, 4 roosters and 4 hens (banties) & 1 standard size hen have this illness.
I have been reading a lot trying to figure out what it is, but I haven't found anything like it yet.
My friend took a couple pics with her phone so I could post them on here:

44252_rooster2.jpg

44252_rooster1.jpg

Anyone have any ideas what it might be?
I look forward to your responses.

Thanks speckledhen, I googled "canker" and "the poultry site" came up, and then I looked at a few other things on that site.
Do you think fowl pox could be it? It kind of seemed more like what's going on. Like the roosters have it worse than the hens do and they are the ones who got it first. (sorry, forgot to mention that in earlier post).

Tell me what you think?
smile.png

http://www.thepoultrysite.com/diseaseinfo/63/fowl-pox-pox-avian-pox

turtledove635 is a friend of mine and her internet is out right now.
I just wanted to update this post to let you all know that she has pretty much confirmed that her birds have avian pox.
The little rooster from the pic had the wet form and the rest so far have the dry form.
The little roo pictured died a couple days ago.