1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Yes, another goat question...! Feeding time

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by miss_thenorth, May 31, 2008.

1. miss_thenorth

miss_thenorth Songster

Dec 28, 2007
    SW Ont, Canada
    I have had my goats for a week, and have discovered that they waste alot of hay.

Just to backtrack, i got two nubians does, probably about 6 mos, old. I cannot call the breeder, (see my other post on goats). so, is there anything else I can feed them besides hay, (since i really hate to see it wasted). And what about sweet goat or other grain, also, mnerals--better to have loose or a block.

Basically, what is the best diet for my goats?

TIA

2. Hi I am new to goat ownership, but this is what I do know. Goats need hay. You can install a hay rackand this will solve your hay waste problem. Hay is the mainstay of their diet, along with grass. I read that too much grain can cause life threatening problems for pet goats. (Meat goats don't live that long so it is not an issue for them and why they get rich grain as a diet) I was told grain and pellets are like candy, so use sparingly.

You can build a hay rack from wood or buy one for under 30 dollars at a tack show or feed store.

Oh, and a mineral block is important for them, as well as baking soda. Baking soda helps their digestion.

I am sure others here know alot more than me, but this info is from a goat farmer and what I have read so far.

Good luck! We absolutely adore our goats!

Last edited by a moderator: May 31, 2008
  3. reallemons1

reallemons1 Songster

Mar 31, 2008
    Gloucester, VA