Yes, I'm a newbie and I'm willing to ask....

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Gottaknow, Mar 9, 2016.

1. Gottaknow

Gottaknow New Egg

Mar 8, 2016
    South Eastern Oklahoma
    Hello All, I'm new to the club,,,,well, new to my first chicken club![​IMG]
    I'm a first timer trying a styrofoam incubator.
    . I purchased some beautiful blue EE eggs to use in the one my father used. I know he used it about 3-4-5 times and he had no problems. I however, had boyfriends and dates on my mind an chose to care less and not pay a lick of attention about how the use this thing...EXCEPT how this thing with a little effort to be converted to a beer chest for the pool!

Now, I did read the incubator 101 post and did get some good points but I just want to ask more. Please forgive me if I ask something that is already posted somewhere...[​IMG]

I put eggs in around 9pm on Monday. Only time I opened it was to quickly drain water in bottom....

1. What and why do you mark the RINGS around the eggs and should I

2. I DID add water to the bottom and drained it out this evening. Humidity is now 47 it had been 70-64 prior to water removed. Oh, I have the only plug out.

3. On day 18 I take out my turner and place eggs on rack, right? And don't open!

I'm sure I have more but this is a start.
    I am soooooo Adamant about this hatch going as perfect as I can get because my father just passed away and as I said it was his. I kinda feel a little closer to him when I mess with it..[​IMG] I
    appreciate anyone's help and thanks for taking time out from your additions to help another!,,,

Tresea in Oklahoma

2. amynrichie

amynrichie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2013
    Nebraska Panhandle