1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Yolk sac outside

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Sher, Aug 13, 2010.

1. Sher

Sher In the Brooder

Mar 3, 2010
    Roscoe, Texas
    Hi, My forth hatching, finally successful, after I quit using the LG. So I am still new to this. My one chick that hatched last evening still had something attached to it. I think it is the yolk sack, Not all of it but about the size of half a marble. I let it alone and took the other two chicks out of the incubator this am. I left it in there, some o f the size has decreased, it doesn't seem to be in distress, is standing and sleeping and moving around. Will it be ok?

Sher, 2 Bearded Collies, 4 calves, 53 juvenile chicks, 3 just hatched, 7 runner ducklings and 7 Heritage turkey poults.

2. BeccaB00

BeccaB00 Songster

Jun 16, 2010
    Kansas
    the yolk will absorb on its on [​IMG]

3. Sher

Sher In the Brooder

Mar 3, 2010
    Roscoe, Texas
    Thanks so much. The contents must have been absorbed, just left with a little hanging pouch. I'm afraid to put it in the brooder with the others. I'm afraid they'll pick at it, adn i don't know if the left over tissue should be kept moist or should I put it in the wood shavings to dry up?
    sher

4. BeccaB00

BeccaB00 Songster

Jun 16, 2010
    Kansas
    I would seperate it until the yolk is fully gone. [​IMG] The others might pick at it.
    You don't need to wet the left over yolk or anything, I had a chick like this before, Its pretty scary! But I think your chickie will be fine, as this is not anything serious. [​IMG]

5. Sher

Sher In the Brooder

Mar 3, 2010
    Roscoe, Texas
    THanks so much. It is scary. I had no idea what to do! I'll put it in my little "hospital" box and keep an eye on it. Thanks again!

[​IMG]
    sher