You would not believe the night I had…

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by hollymh, May 16, 2009.

1. hollymh

hollymh *A Scrambled Egg*

Feb 8, 2009
    Texas
    Hubby and I were on our way home from our date when I see an object laying in the median, it was a dog, and it was injured but alive, all I say is “Honey!” and he immediately turns around. We get there, a female stray is laying there bleeding, I was a vet tech at one point in time and I could tell she had broken bones and possible internal bleeding, now I’m ticked, beyond ticked off in fact, someone hit this little dog and left her there I have a piece of their car that was laying near her, it’s from the right side undercarriage/right bumper. So it’s 11pm and I’m sitting in the middle of the road w/ this poor dog, my husband calls the cops, they come out and yell at us to get out of the road and leave the dog there, I said some unsavory words and told them to, well you know so they drove off… My husband after sitting with the dog and us determining she isn’t aggressive, scoops her up and carries her to the side of the road by our Jeep, we lay her down, she can’t walk, now I’m sure she has a broken or dislocated hip; she was bleeding but not bad enough to kill her so I sat there and sat there and I’m trying to figure out what to do when I remember my vet will do ER calls, now it’s about 1230am now, and I gathered a small crowd around me as I’m sitting here holding this pup, I was AMAZED that anyone stopped in the first place!!! So we load the poor baby in the car when my phone rings, it’s my vet, THANK GOD!!! We rushed her to her and she over-looks her, by now I’m hoping to keep this girl, so you can imagine my dismay when we realized she had not only a broken hip like I suspected, but a broken scapula and a broken pelvis, my vet just looks at me with knowing eyes and ask me what to do, it’s up to me… I decided to put the poor girl to sleep… I of course cried because she was such a fighter and hel