Young bantam rooster extremely sick

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Twelve Palms, Jun 1, 2010.

1. Twelve Palms

Twelve Palms In the Brooder

Mar 8, 2010
    Hello, I'm new to chickens so I would appreciate all the help I can get. Sunday morning I found my 4 month old bantam rooster on his back, legs flailing around, and his head/neck curled around in a terrible position. He was flapping one wing and pushing one leg, but was not able to stand at all. I didn't know what to do so I gave him water by dropper and some chick food which I make into a paste. I thought for sure he would be gone this morning when I woke up, but he's still alive and still no better. It's so horrible to see him like this--he can't get off his back and just flops around.... I don't know what to do. I'm very fond of the little boy and wish I could help him, but I don't know if there's anything to be done. It looks very bad. Any suggestions???? Quick responses would be greatly appreciated. Judith

2. babsbag

babsbag Songster

Jan 12, 2010
    Anderson, CA
    Unfortunately my first thought would be Marek's disease which is never good. There are some post on BYC where people have used hypercium to treat it with success, but it not easy, not quick, and doesn't always work.

Do you know if he was vaccinated for Marek's?

3. Twelve Palms

Twelve Palms In the Brooder

Mar 8, 2010