Young chicken has problem with legs

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by mariaella, Oct 1, 2011.

1. mariaella

mariaella New Egg

Oct 1, 2011
    Hi. This is my first time on here.. hope someone can help:).

I went to the vet on Monday, basically it was a waste of time. One chook needed to be put down and this other one ( Dino) needed her/his legs checked. Dino was walking around on one leg basically for a few days, the other was straight out in front of him /her. It has movement, but no weight can be put on it. Now the vet said it was a strain on that leg. The other I tried to tell him had started clicking in the joint at the (knee?) and I had assumed it was from all the weight being borne by that leg. The vet gave me no treatment for poor DINO, Just told me to keep him/her warm and quite.

Trouble is the the first leg is still stuffed, some 6 days later, the second is worse. the click got so bad and now the poor guy cant walk at all and is in some pain, he/she cant even sit but is laying on its side all the time, but only on the side without the clicking knee. The other thing is she/he has started to drink very little and seems a little hoarse (perhaps because of the lack of water). This little one has been hand raised as it was poorly when little due to an investation of RED Mites. (We drowned these with cooking oil). My little girl and I are very attached to Dino and the way things are going it will end up it the pets graveyard. I need some proper answers and treatment. The bloody vet basically stood the bird on his table, watched his leg go in front of him and made the diagnosis based on that !!!

Can anyone help please. Dino is our baby, thinks it is one of us . PS, Dino is approx 16 weeks old

Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  2. chic-a-deee

chic-a-deee Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi.
    Do you have any idea how the chicks legs became that way?? Ive heard that while they are in the brooder, you should never put down just