young chicken stopped walking

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by rjs1188, Sep 12, 2010.

1. rjs1188

rjs1188 New Egg

Sep 12, 2010
    Hi, I'm new to chickens, but I've had a parrot before. We have 2 birds, the older is about 18 weeks, the younger one we're not sure but based on her size we guess she's about a month younger,. They live in our backyard, currently we are still feeding them purina chick starter. We let them out into the yard during the day and I built them a coop where they sleep. The coop is like a garden tractor design, but we have it sitting on our concrete patio, so the floor is not wire.

We live in Austin and had a tropical storm go over last week, we had a whole day of heavy rain, and some other rains afterwards. The ground level of the coop got soaked, and the food dish was filled up with water, and I changed all the food out. The upstairs part where they roost was pretty dry, some of the bedding got wet around the edges of the doors, but the roof didn't leak and the birds were not overly wet as far as I know.

The younger bird Maddie is now not walking. Yesterday morning I noticed she would walk a few steps and then sit down, I though maybe something was up but when I tried to approach her she flew rather than ran. We got her as a juvenile and she is pretty wild, so I didn't try to force the issue. Normally at night our birds roost on the coop roof until I come put them in. But last night Maddie was still on the ground outside the coop. I put her in for the night and went googling to see what I could find out.