Young chickens dying...Sherlock Holmes, where are you?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by babsbag, Dec 19, 2012.

1. babsbag

babsbag Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2010
    Anderson, CA
    I have been raising chickens for about 4 years and I thought I had this all figured out but I need to get some input from some other minds on this one. I have had many many chicks raised here by broodies, by incubation, and by purchase and I have never had this kind of mortality.

I am not sure when a chick becomes a chicken, but these birds are about 3-4 months old. They were hatched and raised by three broody hens. I captured moms and the chicks to "keep them safe", but this isn't working well.

These chickens are living in a 10 x 10 covered dog run, they now have a heat lamp just to be sure, but still losing the young chickens. I know it is not predators as they have an electric fence around them and no sign of any damage on the dead birds. Sometimes they are dead on the ground, and sometimes in the cage they sleep in. There are now only about 6 young chickens left in this pen, but about 8 mature chickens live in there as well.

Over the last 12 weeks I have lost probably 10 out of 16 chicks. The first 4 were young, less than a month and I figured it was them getting beat up or stepped on by a grown chicken, or maybe just bad genetics. At first they were with thier mom and she was keeping them warm at night so I know it wasn't cold. I brought the last 2 of those 4 inside as they didn't look well, but lost them anyways.

When I started losing chicks from another hen I started to get worried, and then from yet another hen. It would be one or two a day and then none for a week and then another, no pattern, and only the young ones.

My first thought was coccidia so I treated for that in the water for 5 days, two different times. Still lost birds.