Young pullet is very ill, I think it was the cold snap. PLEASE help me

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by The Lisser, May 11, 2010.

1. The Lisser

The Lisser Songster

Our little mixed breed bantum pullet Blossom is probably dying. I noticed yesterday that she seemed "droopy" - feathers puffed out, wings hanging a little. She has always been the puny one of my bunch of 10 chicks, they are now between 10 - 12ish weeks old. When she was a chick I noticed that she had a faster respiration rate, but never observed any sneezing or coughing or discharge.

I moved them out to the coop about 2 weeks ago - the temps were very warm, and I've been closing them in at night. They are all fully feathered, and Blossom is a silkie mix and has lots of feathers everywhere. We had a "cold" snap the last few days - temps in the 40's at night, in the 60's during the day. I didn't even think about it affecting the chickens (I'm still new at chickens). When I noticed Blossom acting "off" we put the red heat lamp in the coop, and she has been staying under it. I saw her drinking water yesterday which gave me hope and I put extra food stations out, hoping she would get her fair share. Up until the last two days I've seen her eating. The other chicks have outgrown her and since she has been kinda lethargic they were bumping into her and walking on her. I put her in an animal carrier (with food and water) half under the heat lamp so they would not hurt her. When I came home tonight she was lying on her side, seems only able to lift her head.