young rooster behavior (if this is a roo)

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 7kids12hens, Sep 15, 2011.

1. 7kids12hens

7kids12hens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 20, 2011
    Hello. I'm fairly new to this chicken thing, and I never could have imagined the journey it would take me on. I have 5 laying hens, and 6 others who are very close to laying or a little younger. My youngest ones are about 12 weeks old. I also have another chicken, that I've raised with this flock that was supposed to be a pullet, but I'm thinking and hoping he is a rooster. I had an americana rooster who was acquires from a backyard flock very similar to mine. They had to rehome him, because he turned out to be rooster. He was very sweet when I went to see him and brought him home. By the afternoon, he was attcking me and the children. I thought it would be like integrating a hen, and well, I did a few things wrong. After spending the night reading and taking a crash course in rooster 101, I went to the coop with my arms and legs covered, and after a little mayhem, picked that rooster up, fed him out of my hand, and repeated the process for about 3 days and he soon came to be fine with me handling the hens, and I had even worked my up to bringing one child with me into the fence to gather eggs. He very quickly grew to be my favorite. Last Friday morning I went out find him dead on the ground. I had him necropsied, and so far Mareks, avian flu, and ILT have been ruled out. Anyway, I have this barred rock who was raised with the flock and I've had since he was a "pullet" about 6 wks old. He's now close to 6 mos old. No crowing or eggs. He's very skittish and I can't catch him anymore to try to handle him, but he will eat from my hand. My question is, if he's a rooster, will he start to exert some authority. He is sparring periodically with another bird who's not laying, but I feel very certain she a girl. You can't tell from the photo that I am going to attempt to post, but wh