Your favoritve turkey breed/variety, or any advise :)

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by Potato, Nov 1, 2014.

1. Potato

Potato Out Of The Brooder

Jun 24, 2014
    I have been raising broad breasted turkeys for a few years now. I really enjoy having turkeys, so I have decided to get some heritage turkeys to keep year round and have them reproduce. We cannot decide on which breed(s), so we are thinking about getting a couple of each of the popular breeds. If anyone has any insight on which breeds are great and/or which to avoid please let me know. I am raising them for meat, but we also really enjoy just having them around. I think we would like to avoid any of the midget or wild varieties of turkey. I looked through some fourms and I am seeing many people really enjoy the royal palm. Any advise would be great, thanks everyone

2. nanclapper

nanclapper Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2011
    North Idaho
    I really like the White Hollands...they are friendly and reach a good processing age about 9 months old. My toms at 9 months were about 23 lbs and hens 17lbs. I started with a mature breeding pair a year ago, the hen layed like crazy in the spring and through the summer, however, none of her eggs were fertile, except when my Narragansett tom hopped the fence, LOL! I hatched about six mixed breeds! We processed the mature tom, he was 35lbs. I was told he was 2-years-old when I bought him, but I think he was much older than that. I have a young White Holland tom (six months) and two hens so I'm hoping to start hatching more out next spring.

I also enjoy having Narragansetts because they are so beautiful. I hatched some of there eggs in my incubator and then let "Rosie" hatch out her own in late spring. She sat on six eggs and they all hatched! She didn't lay anymore eggs this year after that!

Last edited: Nov 1, 2014
  3. mrsreaper2278

mrsreaper2278 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 27, 2014
    Knoxville, TN