hardware cloth coop floor

Sore Thumb Suburbanite

Songster
8 Years
Apr 26, 2011
orange county
I am building my coop and really liked another members pull out drawer design for a coop floor but am using 1x1 hardware cloth instead of slats of wood. Will chickens be able to walk on this without a problem and will the poop fall through or will it get hung up? Anybody use this? I'm new to chickens and chicken poop.

Also, I have fallen victim to chicken obsession and want to keep 5 or 6 hens for laying. Will my 3&1/2x4 foot coop house them? Ill be keeping. 1 red sex link, a buff orphington, a Rhode island red, a black australorp and a white rock. I really want to keep a black sex link as well. I just don't know if I'll be overcrowding. The coop sits on a chicken tractor that I 'll move regularly but the run is 3.5x 8. I will let them free range on the weekends.

It seems to me that a 1" x 1" opening in the mesh will be too much for the chickens. I guess that poop will fall through an opening that large.

I made the mistake of using 1/2" hardware cloth for the floor of my first coop, thinking that poop would fall through. It doesn't, and the mesh makes cleaning the floor difficult. Almost any tool gets hung in the mesh.

The rule of thumb is 4 square feet per chicken in the coop and 10 square feet in the run. 3.5 x 4 would be 14 square feet. So that would be 3 chickens. The run works out to be 28 square feet for almost 3 birds. I think you can get by with less space in the coop, if the run is sufficient.

Crowding can create problems with pecking and such.

Chris

Looks like 4 would be the maximum number of chickens if I keep the smaller breeds then. Should have built a bigger coop. I 'll try the floor first, if I need to change it out, it wont be too difficult to do.