Need advice... Mallard duck sitting on nest

jamienuss

In the Brooder
5 Years
Mar 27, 2014
Apex, NC
Hi Everyone! This is my first time posting to BYC so I apologize if I'm in the wrong place...

A little back story: I have two mallards that I got as babies back in March; we ended up with a male and female. The female has been laying eggs pretty regularly and we've been using them for cooking. But about two weeks ago, we noticed she'd be missing for a little while each day. We figured she was laying in a nest somewhere. And we were right!

She is about 50yards from the coop in between two trees on the edge of the woods. We finally found the nest and it has 13 eggs in it. For starters, I'm a little worried about her safety. But she can fly so hopefully she'd take off before something got her. Our land is fenced all the way around so the dogs can't get out so hopefully that would by her time if something was trying to het her. But it's getting colder - by the end of the week it will be down to 40's during the day and low 30's/high 20's at night. She's staying at her nest pretty much all the time.

Will she be okay in the weather? Should I try to move her? What would you do?

We are planning to take the babies inside if/when they hatch - between the dogs and cats and the cold weather I'm afraid they wouldn't make it....

Any advice is much appreciated!!

Is she spending the nights out there on the nest as well? If she's only been sitting some of the time (and not all day with just one or two short breaks), the eggs likely aren't viable. Can you candle at least a few of the eggs to see if there are living embryos inside? If they're not alive/fertile, the solution is much easier: just toss the eggs so she can get on with her life and be kept in where she is safe and warm (assuming you have a coop for them?). If the eggs are indeed viable with growing embryos inside, you can better estimate a hatch date judging by their level of development.