When should I start breeding?

BackyardDove

Songster
9 Years
Oct 8, 2014
Central Texas
This is my first time breeding chickens and I want them to have a good first batch, so I want to try and do this as perfectly as a first-time chicken breeder can. I have three Silkie hens and one Booted Bantam hen who are all 10 months old now. They've laid eggs and have learned the proper places to lay, but haven't shown any signs of wanting to brood. I think this may be a lighting issue, the nests I have were intended to just be used as a place for hens to lay and not really a place for them to lay and incubate eggs. I'm going to try and see if I can maybe make that area darker for them, but if anybody have suggestions or advice regarding why they aren't brooding, I'll be more than happy to listen!