i LOVE my ladies!

Ebbie

In the Brooder
Jun 30, 2015
Philadelphia MS
Hi everyone, I am new to the sight - I have had my girls now for about 3 years - well not the same set of girls I started out with....coyotes and pack dogs on different occasions have dwindled my flock and I have had to "re"new with new ones I have raised. My latest INTRUDERs have been snakes - I thought my ladies were on a sabbatical from egg laying...however,low and be hold they were doing fine and so were the "snakes"! About 3 weeks ago I shot my first snake and then yesterday afternoon I got the second one. That is how I found the BYC page - I did a google search on how to trap Chicken Snakes!!! And wa-la - here I am! Check out this photo from yesterday!

I am now trying to find a minnow trap as described by a BYC member!! I cannot loose many more nights of sleep being chased by these boogers!

I thought our local Walmart had the type I needed but alas, it was a different type than was shown on their website - SURPRISE!

And no moth balls do not work! So any other ideas I am all for hearing them!

Sincerely,

Ebbie

It was truly awful. I am someone who does not kill anything - well accept for when bugs hit the windshield and in the last 4 weeks I have now killed 2 snakes! The first one I saw I "chased" off - ha ha ha ha ha and we put out a ton of Moth balls - well, the rest is history now....I just do NOT like snakes and then to have to kill it..........oh geez! Not my idea of fun! Where in NC do you live? I have a very dear and best friend who lives in Waxhaw NC!!!

Welcome to BYC! Glad you joined the flock!
frow.gif

I cannot even write or say that S word.
hide.gif
There was a thread going on here years ago, of how to protect your birds from them. One person suggested putting out rolls of poultry wire, spiraled on the ground like a slinky toy. They get caught up trying to move thru the wire and either die there or predators come along and pick them off.