Automatic door problem?

Margiechickmom

In the Brooder
6 Years
Mar 4, 2013
Rural NE North Carolina
OK. Today I received my automatic door from Adorstore.. (a sponsor on this website). We installed it this afternoon. When I came home from dinner, all but one of my chickens was closed out of the coop. I guess because it was raining, that it recognized it as dark earlier than it should have? Maybe it will be a problem in the rain?

Anyone else have experience with this door? Does it normally close too early in the rain?

Experiences, anyone?

Oh dear. Hmmm, I have no experience with this, and haven't completed our coop/run yet, but this is one of the things I have often wondered about with automatic doors ... what if the chickens aren't ready to go in at the same time as the automatic door decides it's time to close? Is there a way to train your chickens to go in to roost before the door closes? In theory there is a big benefit to an automatic door in the event that you aren't able to be home in time to put your chickens to bed at night, but your experience illustrates my biggest reservation about relying on an automatic door.

The whole reason I got it is because we're getting ready to go on vacation. I have someone coming to feed them and water them but they live 15 miles away and obviously can't come twice a day to open and close the door. Usually at the first sign of dusk, all of my chickens go in. I guess the rain fouled everyone up.

My auto door is installed on the back of the coop and it doesn't get anything beyond part-sun during the height of daytime. No issues w/ early closure, even on a rainy day.

The default setting is #1, which closes at dusk and opens at dawn. Dusk and dawn are subjective times, more dependent on the amount of ambient light hitting the sensor vs. a specific time. On that note, is your sensor facing inside or outside the coop (meaning, did you mount the door inside or outside the coop)?