Color genetics in mixed flock

VigilanteFarms

Hatching
May 4, 2020
I have a good basic understanding of color genetics but I'm completely new to applying it to chickens. I've been out of chickens for about 8 years and am trying to plan my new flock. I have limited space this time so I can't have a bunch of individual pens for different breeds. I have some favorite breeds and colors I'd really like to have this go round but in a mixed flock. I'd still like to hatch some neat colored babies so before I actually decide on chickens I wanted to try and figure out what kind of results I might get from the breeds/colors I'm considering.

My biggest concern is that I don't want to hatch a bunch of plain, black, red, or white birds. I understand I probably won't get nice clean patterns, I just don't want a bunch of bland looking birds.

For starters, I'll list out the breeds and colors I'm considering. I'd like to know which breed and/or color that you would choose as a rooster to get the best results with the rest of the breeds/colors being hens. Why would you choose that one? (I may have up to two roosters, preferably one of them a frizzle) Would you completely eliminate any colors from my list that would muddy things up? Are there any breeds/colors you would add that might make things interesting? Would you switch any colors to a different breed in the list?

I'm probably going to have a million and one questions leading off of this but I've got so many that I don't know where to start so maybe this will give me some direction.

The list: (All Bantam)
🐔 Buff Laced Polish
🐔Mille Fleur D'Uccle
🐔Crele OEGB
🐔 Porcelain OEGB
🐔 Blue/Splash Silkies
🐔Cochins (maybe self blue, mottled, GL)
🐔Salmon Faverolles (maybe blue salmon too)

My first thought is I'd like to have a frizzled buff laced Polish as a rooster to go over the rest of them as hens.

No comment except to say I was going to write a very similar thread today! Looking forward to reading some answers :)