fighting Mating Buttons What to do?

Pumpkan

In the Brooder
7 Years
Mar 30, 2012
Naples,FL
I just recently discovered my 5 female button quail are actually 2 males and 3 females!! They all used to get along except for recently when I believe they matured enough!! And of course the males are fighting but I find my black spotted button female running after and harassing my Grey and white female!! ALOT
sad.png
! And the males seem to peak at her to when the other one starts it!! And it doesn't seem that the males are trying to mate with her either??? Is she the fifth wheel? Should I take her out?
hu.gif

I was thinking of just keeping one male and trading out a female as well ? What would be the best thing to do here?

1) Keep it the way it is?
2) Keep the 2 males and two females ?
3) Get rid of 1 male?
4) Get rid of one male and get another female?
5) Get rid of one male and Grey female and get two more females or none?
6) Keep 2 male 2 female and split their cage in half?

I'm new to owning buttons so I'm not sure of what all their behaviors mean it's a learning process!! LOL

With my buttons, I've found the best results is to pair them up...if you can tell which ones have already "paired" up on their own its even better...you might end up with a odd one out....but once you start getting eggs, you'll have a match up in no time...or sell or extra(s)

But all that to say this, pairs (male and female) in one enclosure is best!

Good luck!

If you have two pairs, can you get another bird cage and put the second pair in there? And then if you need an extra male, I have one that you can pair your extra hen with. That way everyone gets a mate.

I have A LOT of males that would appreciate a lady friend ;) ;0)