Fodder growing questions

Varabtbb

Chirping
Mar 7, 2023
Hey there! I’m new to growing fodder and having chickens also. Our chickens are 5 weeks old and I live in Florida where the average temp outside right now is about 80 degrees.

I started growing organic wheat fodder about 5 days ago. I soaked the seeds overnight for almost 18 hours, rinsed and placed on the tray. On day 2 I placed the seed tray outside. I have the tray under a tree which gets some sun for a little part of the day. I’ve noticed after the first day of the wheat being outside, small flying bugs that resemble fruit flies are all over the grains. The grains also smell kinda like bad beer. I thought that by this point in the growing cycle, that I would have full sprouts on all the seeds. But it seems to be growing very slowly and only a few seeds have sprouted. I water in the morning, afternoon and at night with a watering can. Can you tell me if this is normal for the flys, smell and the rate of growth ? I appreciate any feedback. Thanks so much!

Attachments

• 7C83FE80-7B28-4B09-94A8-064EAF37A7F0.jpeg
    7C83FE80-7B28-4B09-94A8-064EAF37A7F0.jpeg
    820.5 KB · Views: 114
  • E097B30D-DA87-49D0-A7A6-577C8F22A94A.jpeg
    E097B30D-DA87-49D0-A7A6-577C8F22A94A.jpeg
    899.8 KB · Views: 13
You should definitely have more growth than that, it sounds like they are rotting. I would suspect that either the grains you're using are not (very) viable, or you soaked them too long and drowned them. I know that many people say that you should soak them for 12 or more hours, but I have found 3 to 6 hours to be quite sufficient, I've tried longer and they always seem to drown. If I were you, I'd try a shorter soak time, and if that doesn't work, than try some grain from a different source.
Asya