Hatch-a-long Black Sex Link RIR x BPR + RIR x RIR, + RIR x Cinnamon Queen, Staggered Hatch 4/12 & 4/20

Playfulroost

Chirping
Aug 16, 2020
Southeast Colorado
It's my first time hatching eggs in an incubator. I started 27 eggs on 4/12 from my backyard flock. I have two 3 yr old RIR roosters, 9 BPR hens 2 years old, and 3 Cinnamon Queen hens 2 years old. I bought the RIR from Meyer Hatchery in 2019 and the Barred Rock hens from Ideal Poultry in 2020. The three Cinnamon Queens are from Big R 2020, I think they use Privet Hatchery.
I am hoping the bloodlines are true enough for the RIR x BPR = Black Sex Link. The roos will be black with a white spot on their heads because they inherited the Barred gene from the mother. The pullet chicks will be solid black. The red birds will be pure blood RIR or a RIR cross, so I won't know sex on day one for those.
So I candled on day 7 and only saw 10 embryos out of 27. I was bummed! Only a third of eggs developed.
I made the decision to do a staggered hatch. I ended up removing 12 clear eggs on day 8. I added 25 eggs for a total of 40. Incubator was only designed for 24 eggs so I am hand turning.
All the eggs are light to medium brown so I have no idea who's eggs are who's. The first batch was from my smaller roo, the second 25 eggs were from my big roo. I saved eggs for 5 days for both batches. I switched the roosters on 4/12.