Leg twisted 170 degrees?

Chrifister

Chirping
Apr 5, 2020
It's a batch of 4 turkey poults that are 6 days old. They hatched with some other chicks. They all seemed to be doing fine, everyone looked okay although I haven't closely examined all of them yet. Today my father notices one of the turkey poults seemed to have his leg stretched out behind him at an odd angle and it didn't look right. I told him they often stretch when laying down. Well this is not stretching. His lower leg is turned almost 170 degrees pointing almost straight behind him.

It looks like the hock is a bit bigger than the other one, so definitely swollen. We did some research and at first thought it might be slipped tendon but it doesn't seem to be, although I'm no expert. When trying to put the leg back pointing forward, there is increasing resistance when you get about 20 degrees from straight ahead. When you let go it twists out to about 60-70 degrees on its own. He is very lively and is still crawling around getting food and water, then back under the lamp to sleep. When moving he can move the leg far forward, like diagonal out forward and to the right, and then use it to push forward. I assume he won't be able to do that when he's bigger and heavier.

Is it an injury? I don't think it could be a deficiency in feed. We are feeding the proper turkey starter, the only turkey starter anybody can get here. I also add that electrolyte solution to their water. I'm sure we would have noticed a leg pointing backwards in the last 6 days, with multiple people checking in on them many tens of times a day. It had to have happened today.