Mites and lice prevention

BlueAndGreen

Chirping
Mar 25, 2023
Eastern North Carolina
As a new chicken owner I'm curious if there are any safe products to spray chicken run and surrounding areas for mites and lice prevention..or any other parasite. Is this something a lot of people do or is this something most people treat when an infestation occurs? Again I'm new to raising chickens and just want to do what's best for my birds. Thanks in advance.

I don’t treat my chicken yard because I have plants growing in there and a deep litter system that I don’t want to mess with but I do preventatively treat my whole coop twice a year. I personally use elector psp for this, the stuff lasts forever. It’s expensive for the bottle but it’s a concentrate that you add to water (there’s dosages for northern fowl mites, red mites, etc online). I spray all the walls, windows, floor, nesting boxes, roosts, and every crevice in the coop.
There’s not much you can do to the run/yard to prevent mites and lice since lice doesn’t live off of birds and mites live in the coop. Keeping wild birds away from your flock is a good preventative because they can transfer those parasites to your chickens. Make sure they have a nice, dry dust bathing area year round to keep themselves free of pests. I have a wood stove and put some wood ash in their spots as a lice preventative as well. Some people say no to wood ash, but I have never had an issue.

I don’t treat my chicken yard because I have plants growing in there and a deep litter system that I don’t want to mess with but I do preventatively treat my whole coop twice a year. I personally use elector psp for this, the stuff lasts forever. It’s expensive for the bottle but it’s a concentrate that you add to water (there’s dosages for northern fowl mites, red mites, etc online). I spray all the walls, windows, floor, nesting boxes, roosts, and every crevice in the coop.