Processed Cattle Order Use Questions

Iluveggers

Crossing the Road
Jun 27, 2021
NYS
So we are splitting half a steer with another family. They only want the “regular” parts, so we get the bones, and other “unwanted” parts, including the heart, tongue, liver, oxtail, tripe (which won’t be clean), sweet breads, kidneys, & jowls. Since there is no extra charge for any of it we said we would take it all. We figure anything we don’t want to eat will make great food for our large dogs. We try to cut their dry food with meat/fat/bones or eggs at every meal to give them protein and cut down on our cost of feeding them.

Any ideas on what would be best for them, and how to serve it to them? Also, which of these parts should we keep for our own eating? Usually we buy specific cuts but this year we are stocking up. Processed 3 roosters, with 4 more coming, this 1/2 steer, and hopefully DH will get a Doe or two in hunting season.

Thanks so much!

I am not an expert. While kidneys are not often eaten in this country, they are popular in England. Steak and kidney pie is often on the menu there. As to how to prepare them, google is your friend. One thing that is sometimes not mentioned is that kidneys do need to soak in cold water for a while before they are prepared. If you don't want to eat them yourself, the cats will like them. Just cut them up in smallish pieces. Tongue may look funny, but I can tell you, it is delicious. I have never prepared it myself, but I have eaten it at Basque restaurants. It was marinated in something and served cold. It is often used in sandwiches. I liked it well enough that if I lived near you, I would be begging for that tongue. As for sweetbreads and anything else you don't fix every day, again, google is your friend. Kidney fat can't be beat if you are trying to put weight on a dog, but you don't feed very much at a time. Ask me how I know this. As for the tripe, I personally wouldn't fool with it. It is used to make menudo, a Mexican soup. On