Please help!!!

luvmychix2014

Chirping
5 Years
Aug 1, 2014
Hutchinson, Kansas
I am new to incubating chicken eggs...more times than none everything goes wonderful. I pick good healthy eggs, they all are usually fertile, they grow wonderful veins everything is perfect...and then hatching day comes. The incubator has wonderful heat and humidity the chick starts to break through I don't help it just leave it alone and before it can get out it dies!!! Why is this happening??? Everything is so perfect until this point :(

Last edited:
Have you opened up any of the eggs that didn't make it? How did they look? Where they maybe too dry or too wet? How did the membrane look? What is the humidity level you are using?

My humidity is usually 50% and then it ranges from that to 60% towards the end...yesterday the chick piped through was chirping loudly and even last night sounded great, was alive still this morning and hadn't made much process and now my sister went to go check and says it appears dead...not moving or making noise

Last edited:
I am new to incubating chicken eggs...more times than none everything goes wonderful. I pick good healthy eggs, they all are usually fertile, they grow wonderful veins everything is perfect...and then hatching day comes. The incubator has wonderful heat and humidity the chick starts to break through I don't help it just leave it alone and before it can get out it dies!!! Why is this happening??? Everything is so perfect until this point :(

When you say wonderful heat & humidity, can you be more specific? What are your temps and humidity day 1-18? I think you said 50-60% humidity days 1-18? I think that might be part of the problem. That maybe too high. Also what incubator are you using? And do you have calibrated thermometers and hygrometers? If a chick pips and doesn't start zipping after 24 hours then you may need to assist.