Hens are waisting away

calkal

Chirping
6 Years
Mar 21, 2013
Concord Twp, Oh
I am fairly new to chickens. I started with 20 hens and 4 roosters about 2 years ago and am down to 13 hens. They have a diet of layer food, supplemented with fresh ground sirloin once a week, and sunflower seeds in the winter months to get them thru the cold weather. I also supplement them with fresh kale, fruits and vegetables year round. Seems I lose most of them in the cooler weather, and not over the summer. They seem to get lethargic, start to get picked on by the others. They start to lose weight. Their comb pales. I separate them from the flock, make sure they are warm, dry, well fed. They seem to eat for a few days, then their appetite drops off. They die on about the 3rd day. When they pass, they have lost lots of weight. They have little stool and it is watery with no blood. I seem to lose one every few months. I bought them from a reputable hatchery as chicks. I had then vaccinated and fed them medicated feed as chicks. I worm them every fall using the fresh pumpkin and squash method. I haven't lost any roosters, who house with the hens. I am heart broken, and at a loss for the deaths. Does anyone have any ideas?

Last edited:
There are many possibilities.
Two suggestions.....get a fecal float test done to check for worms. Most vets will do this even if they don't see chickens. Worms are a very common cause of weight loss, and you may or may not see evidence in the droppings. The worm load in the environment can vary greatly from place to place, and from season to season. I personally have found natural worming methods to be woefully ineffective in my environment. They are fine to use for prevention, but once a worm infection happens they aren't effective. I use Safeguard (fenbendazole) and Valbazen (albendazole) mostly. If you have a worm issue then once a year may not be frequent enough, you may need to do spring and fall.
I worm 3 to 4 times a year due to my climate.