Chick with bloody stool--HELP

TracyLK

In the Brooder
8 Years
Apr 15, 2011
I have had my chicks for 2 weeks. My 3 week old Silkie just had a bloody stool for the first time. Her stool looked normal, but it was covered in blood. Could it be that she strained to go or is she sick? I have been giving them medicated feed. She has been eating, drinking, etc, but she is the tiniest of my chicks. This is my first time with chicks so any advice would be helpful.

I wouldn't worry unless it's constant. Maybe your chick ate a pine chip and was sharp inside. If your chick is acting normal and eating fine, I'm sure everything will be okay.

I had a chick that did this, nothing came of it. Good luck.

thats a problem i face too.The stool's normal but bloody,and i use newspaper not anything that could puncture the insides.but for some reason the bloody stool disappears over time and the chicks' stool seems normal,but after some time again I see bloody stool.could it be that they're getting relapses of some internal disease???

Coccdia will cause runny bloody stool, along with lethargic chicks. I do keep Sulmet on hand in case of an emergency, but I never used it. I heard it's pretty toxic medication. I would not treat unless it's an emergency.

My Cochin frizzle was the one with blood in the stool. She had it for about a day and a half. I have no idea what caused it. It happened a day or two after I brought her home. I figured it could of been stress related. My frizzle is doing awesome 4 weeks later!

You could take a stool sample to a vet whom treats chickens. I know it's hard not to stress out about this. Raising baby chicks is very stressful and worrisome.

Last edited:
Yay Chicks! :

Here's the infamous poop chart. It may help you identify what is going on and is certainly an eye opener to the wide range of "normal" poops as well: http://www.chat.allotment.org.uk/index.php?topic=17568.0

thanks.I've been worrying too much!!
tongue.png