Modified Little Giant Incubator, NEW 2nd Modification! (Photos!)

RichardandTresa

In the Brooder
5 Years
Jun 23, 2014
I found an older “little giant” incubator on Craigslist for $45 including two complete egg turners and a stock fan installed. Couldn’t pass it up in spite of much of what I’ve heard regarding reliability.

The wafer thermostat does fluctuate a lot, however, I came up with an idea that seems to have worked!

First off, this is an older one with the Styrofoam water trays molded in. I took a router and removed it leaving the interior bottom flat to accept the molded plastic water reservoir sold at GFQ. I also bought the quail egg trays and the little thermometer… (I had no idea why people complained about it’s accuracy until I realized that quality control at the manufacturer could not possibly place it accurately enough on the printed card. I’m a prototype developer and deal with overseas manufactures not holding tight tolerances… just the nature of the business. So I purchased a digital thermometer/hygrometer with separate sensors and memory for max high and low.)

The concept of drastic temp changes waiting for the wafer thermostat to “catch up” led me to an idea of installing mass heat collectors. These consist of large glass marbles. I placed them along the outer perimeter (This works so well, I’m going to look for more to complete the ring.) What happens is that the marbles get up to the temperature wanted. When the thermostat decides to lower the temperature, the marbles retain the average heat and doesn’t allow the air inside the incubator to lower more than a half a degree. Same thing happens when the thermostat decides to raise the temp.

After testing it out for 24 hours with both red plugs in place, I couldn’t get the humidity below 58% (filling only the #4 reservoir). I pulled out one of the plugs and it lowered to about 50% Here’s a list of temps taken over a 48hr period (first number is humidity, second is temp (Fahrenheit).

51-100.0