12.5 week cockerel hormones?

sahmhomesteader

Chirping
6 Years
Nov 3, 2013
SW Ohio
My 12.5 week old EE cockerel has bit me 3 times in the last week, twice drawing blood. He also charged me in the coop for the first time last night. Is this hormones or should I be worried about agressiveness for later on? I have a 3 yr old boy and a 1 yr old boy, and my chickens free range our property.

Each time he bit me I held him upside down and walked him around. I am a newbie to roos and not sure what else to do with him.

I will say this, last week we adopted 4 more pullets the same age as all the rest including the cockerel. They are separate from the big coop, but everyone can still see them. Well he gets real upset when I feed and water them, and handle them for the day (they get scared and make noises that get his attention). Could this be what is causing this angst towards me?

Also, I am planning to adopt a 2 yr old EE roo in a couple of days. Will my cockerel tone down his behavior when big boy gets here?

I just really don't want to have to make a meal out of my cockerel or rehome him. I have raised him from just a few days old and still love him.

Thanks in advance for the help.