4 and 6 wk old chicks. too old to establish relationship?

jaxia

Chirping
5 Years
Jun 1, 2014
Broken Arrow, ok
hello all!

i am fairly new to being a chicken momma, i got my first 2 chicks may 19th. one barred rock (Amy Farrah Fowler) and the other was still up in the air, ive heard cinnamon something or a golden sex link, my daughter named her goldie or choco. well goldie got a lil too curious of the dogs at the fence line and i guess it was just pure bad luck but she got pulled thru and passed away. we really thot we had the area secure but btwn her scratching and the dog there was one spot that was weak, i was devastated, my daughter took it like a champ tho. well after we got the fence triple secured we went to get more chickens. i wanted them to b close to Amys age and size for easy transition. i really think i should have just sucked it up and raised chicks again but o well hind sight and all...we found a farm who had chicks ranging from day old to 8 weeks. i dont think this farmer was able to establish human to chicken relations with so many running around or else he just doesn't baby his like i do mine.
hu.gif