6 hens one sick chicken, are the eggs safe to eat?

kait1012

In the Brooder
6 Years
Aug 6, 2013
Hi, i have one sick hen that has been quarantined but not sure what is wrong with her yet. We're new chicken owners and aren't sure if the eggs are safe to eat? Can humans get sick from sick chicken eggs? Or get worms? yuck. Might be a dumb question but it isn't if I don't know. Lol. They are just over six months and have been laying for 3 weeks.

unless its an infections disease I think ur fine but im not an expert so research the disease and find out if it goes in through the jeans and gets into the egg so for now I recommend not eating the egg and treating the chicken

just in case, i would throw away the egg
smile.png

Thanks! I am still not sure whats wrong with her. I am calling the vet tomorrow. I guess I'll toss the eggs till I find out.

You can't get worms or parasites from eggs and cooking them would take care of anything else. I would eat the eggs.

Have you tried anything, like feeding her buttermilk (or yogurt) and cayenne flakes, pumpkin or adding apple cider vinegar to her water to help her feel better?

Last edited: