A break, or are they done laying?

Phillisy

Songster
Apr 9, 2019
Alberta, Canada
I have a trio of Sebastopol, all around 4 years old, that I purchased last year. This isn’t my first year keeping geese, but it is my first year breeding them.

One of the ladies started laying February 19, the other started March 1; they were laying sporadically at first, but after a couple of weeks I was getting an egg every 36-48hrs from each. After getting a total of 31 eggs combined, they stopped laying! Neither has gone broody, because it’s been too cold here still for me to allow them to keep their eggs yet.

Do they take a break between laying “clutches”?
Or are they done for the season? 😔 15 & 16 eggs each seems so few!

02A29655-9D44-4813-BEA3-895B935F2EB1.jpeg

Last edited:
It does seem like a very small total for such young geese. And if they're done laying, they should have gone broody.

Since it's very cold, it's possible they're taking a break from laying, awaiting warmer and more egg-friendly weather. Another possibility is some critter has discovered the nests and is stealing the eggs. Or, since you're taking the eggs, could they have found another place to lay them?

I thought so too. And I found it weird they both quit so suddenly; there was no drop off in production at all.

We did have a bit of a cold snap for a week or so, but it has been getting progressively warmer (finally!) and in the plus temperatures the last week or so. They’re in a secured area, and nesting in the barn, so nothing has been taking their eggs except for me. One of the girls does still periodically sit on the nest they were using, with the dummy egg I left, so I don’t think they’ve moved the nest...
I’m at a loss.

I'd say they are done. Sebastopol are seasonal layers. They lay in early spring. Mine start in late February and are done by the first week of April.