A seemingly very confused broody hen

Thequast

In the Brooder
Aug 25, 2015
Hello everyone, I'm new to backyard chickens, and new to raising birds in general. Recently I bought a turkey trio - two hens and one Tom - hoping to start my own little flock. I live in Paraguay so that makes for a couple of challenges like:

The folks a bought them from didn't speak Spanish or English, so I wasn't able to get a lot of questions answered.

I don't know how old they are. When I asked when the turkeys were born they said "last year". But I know around here that means that they are under 1 year...just not how many months they are.

I also don't know the breed. Best a can guess from pictures is that they are Norfolk Blacks.

My problem is that one hen started laying. The first egg some how got broken. Since it got broken, I began collecting her eggs daily. After 3 eggs she stopped. One egg got to be ten days old so I put all three eggs in the nest. She immediately laid another egg and proceeded to sit the rest of the afternoon, all night, and the next morning. Then she spent the next night roosting with the other turkeys. The third night she spent on the nest, and the fourth she was back roosting. It was a cold night and the eggs were cold so I just took them out and hoped she would try again later. As soon as we took the eggs she laid another and immediately sat on it all night. Now she's back off again.

By the way she is fertile as it's our tom's favorite game ;)

Any suggestions on what is going on in her turkey brain?

Ok...here's one more :)

Hello everyone, I'm new to backyard chickens, and new to raising birds in general. Recently I bought a turkey trio - two hens and one Tom - hoping to start my own little flock. I live in Paraguay so that makes for a couple of challenges like:

The folks a bought them from didn't speak Spanish or English, so I wasn't able to get a lot of questions answered.