Avian Predators - Or How to prevent the Hawk/Owl attack

falconertomt

Songster
6 Years
Feb 18, 2014
Utah
Hey everyone,

I have seen plenty of people asking about keeping their birds safe from avian predators. I have been working with birds of prey for over 12 years, and have learned a few things. I will attempt here to create a general guide to avoid these predators, and keep your birds safe.

I first want to state that IT IS A FEDERAL CRIME TO KILL ANY BIRD OF PREY. This is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $200,000 fine. If you have a predatory bird that you cannot protect against, your local Wildlife Division may be able to assist you in removing the bird. Occasionally you can get a depredation permit to shoot a bird of prey if they have caused significant loss of property. I urge and encourage you to use this as an absolute last option.

I am not going to go into too much detail about identifying the raptors, because there are many different species, and some of them are geographically isolated.
Here are some Common US Hawks: http://www.birds-of-north-america.net/hawks.html

How to tell if a raptor has killed a bird: