Back to the coop

broomrider

Songster
6 Years
Apr 11, 2014
Northeast Missouri
I'm new to layers and I tried to find the answer to my question before I posted this. My hens and one rooster (was suppose to be a pullet) have been living in their coop (plenty of room to roam) for about 12 weeks now since we have not been able to build the run. It literally rains 5 out of 7 days.... a lot. I live in Missouri and not the Rain Forest like it seems! I would like to start letting my hens free range some especially since they don't have a run but I'm afraid they won't come in when I want them to. How do I train them to go back into the coop from free range?

Last edited:
Should I give them some first so they will know what it is? Will it rattle in a pan if I shake it? If I'm going to give them scratch do I give them some grit too? Should I train 4-5 at time? I have 12. Sorry for all the questions. There's so much to read on here it's hard to find what you're looking for sometimes.

In my opinion, they are plenty old enough to be let out and just before dark they should go back to their coop all by themselves. Make sure you have easy access for the girls to get in and out of the coop. Hopefully you have roosts for them inside the coop so they are used to them otherwise they may want to roost in the trees at night. Scratch or feed is a great idea if the girls won't go in at night, i just call them, here chickies, come on girls and they come a running like a starving herd of buffalo.
Do you have predators? Just something to think about or check into before free ranging them, I'd hate to see you loose your flock to a fox, coon, or hawks. As far as rain goes, sometimes my flock will sit right out in the rain by choice but other times they will just go into the coop and roost.
Most people keep their chickens confined to the coop for a week or two before free ranging them this way they know where roosts, food, and water are located.
Best of luck.