Bad case of Canker? Pox?... Help!

McMillsh

In the Brooder
Dec 22, 2018
Arvada, CO
Hi everybody

*Please see attached photos* :( :(

I have an Easter Egger that is about 2-3 years old. She recently came down with a bad case of canker...or pox (wet or dry?) and I am new to these diseases...I have isolated her from the other chickens.

She has a horribly disfiguring lesion(?) on the right side of her face, beak, inside her mouth. She has swelling around her right eye & it is bubbling/foaming. Poor girl's right nostril is not even visible anymore. I feel horrible. She is my favorite and eldest chicken and I can't believe I didn't notice this sooner.

I have read up on some of the other forums and have spoken with my vet. My vet says he can't legally give my Flagyl. He says it could be pox or something else so he recommended starting out with oxytetracycline in the water, applying chlorahexidine cream (which I don't have yet so he said I could apply some old silver sulfa cream - but then again that is not "legal" to recommend...we simply can never eat her eggs again) to the lesion, and also can apply some cipro opthalmic drops.

I am planning on doing this routine for a few days to see if she gets any better...but I am also wondering if we should just put her down? :( I don't want to prolong her suffering but then again she is still somewhat active, eating & drinking (as best as she can). Does anyone have any experience with a case this bad? Does the beak and face heal and return to a normal state?

Thank you so very much!

Attachments

• IMG_1199.JPG
    IMG_1199.JPG
    60.6 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_1200.jpg
    IMG_1200.jpg
    121.7 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_1204.jpg
    IMG_1204.jpg
    111.6 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_1211.jpg
    IMG_1211.jpg
    121.2 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_1216.jpg
    IMG_1216.jpg
    95.5 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_1219.jpg
    IMG_1219.jpg
    128.6 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_1221.jpg
    IMG_1221.jpg
    137.8 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_1222.jpg