Bare Butts

MamaBear0128

In the Brooder
May 5, 2015
Hi Everyone,

I need some help. I am not good with all the fancy chicken terms, so I hope I am clear enough.

I thought my hens were in their molting season but I'm not so sure.
I live in Sunny South Florida. It's been a bit rainy but not horrible yet and no flooding.
They are just a little over a year old.
They are all Reds.
They have always been healthy, active, funny and full of themselves with beautiful feathers and great shiny color.
Nothing about their personality or eating habits have changed.
There butts are clean.
I keep them well fed and watered daily.
I make a homemade treat of spices and oats with pumpkin seeds, raisins and cranberries which they go crazy over.
Every few weeks, they get water with 2 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar, a crushed garlic glove and black strap molasses.
The food and water routine has been in been in place for 6 months or more.
They are caged with plenty of room.
They have a large hutch for nights.
They have sun and they have shade.
They are let out every day to do their thing.
They only squabble amongst themselves a little bit. No real picking....unless someone has a pumpkin seed.

I think I covered all the bases........that being said,

4 out of my 8 hens have bare butts.
Color is from pale pinkish to red.
Their butts are clean.
No diarrhea.
No mites or lice that I can see.
Sometimes their butts look swollen but others it doesn't.
They have lost their fluff and feathers all the way up around the vent.
They have lost feathers just above their tail feathers but actual tail feathers are intact.
They are all laying beautiful medium to large brown eggs with exception to one. One of them is laying an almost white egg with tiny bumps all over it. Feels like the bumps on sandpaper. I'm not sure who is laying it.

Can someone please give me some ideas? Is this just the molt? Should I treat with a broad spectrum antibiotic or something for parasites?