Breeders, If I Could Ask You a Few Questions!!

cluckcluck42

Songster
10 Years
Oct 4, 2009
Quebec
I'm relatively new to chicken breeding and I have some questions I have been having trouble finding answers for. Thank you in advance for reading
smile.png

Let's say I have 10 birds of a rare breed. I have good quality birds of this breed, and I do not necessarily want to add new genes to the mix. (In Canada, it is tough to find new blood anyways). What I was thinking is that of those 10 birds, I keep one rooster with a flock of hens. I then keep another rooster in a bachelor pad, waiting. When the chicks from the first breeding are old enough, I would then breed those hens to the 'extra' rooster. Would this be better than keeping the chicks to breed to their father?? I figure this way they are being bred to an 'uncle', right?

Option 2 would be to add in a rooster from a different line who may not be as good of quality as my birds and then breed the offspring from that guy back to the good quality rooster. What is the best option in this situation?

Now- as for Option 2, I want to use this in my BLRWs because of the BLRWs I have two of them have crooked beaks, which is of course a sign of inbreeding. I want to add new blood into this mix without sacrificing too much quality. What is the best option here? Basically I have one of the best lines available in Canada so there is no real way to find 'better'. I do want to add genetic diversity though. Picking the best offspring of the new rooster and breeding them back to the good quality roosters, is this what most breeders do?